#### CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 18 May 2017

#### **PRESENT**

Cllr Mrs J G Lawrence (Chairman)
Cllr G Perham (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs Mrs C F Chapman MBE Cllrs K C Matthews
Mrs A L Dodwell N Warren
P Hollick S Watkins
J G Jamieson R D Wenham
D J Lawrence A Zerny

Apologies for Absence: Cllr B J Spurr

Substitutes: Cllr D Lawrence for B Spurr

Members in Attendance: Cllrs Mrs A Barker Mrs C Hegley

R D Berry K Janes M C Blair J Kane D Bowater M Liddiard D McVicar A D Brown J Chatterley R Morris Mrs S Clark T Nicols K M Collins A Ryan N B Costin **B** Saunders I Dalgarno J A G Saunders S Dixon D Shelvev Mrs T Stock P Downing P A Duckett I Shingler K Ferguson T Swain F Firth A M Turner E Ghent B Wells

Mrs S A Goodchild Ms A M W Graham

Officers in Attendance: Mr Q Baker – AD Legal Services (Monitoring

Officer)

J N Young

Mr R Carr – Chief Executive

Mr M Coiffait – Director of Community Services
Mr D Galvin – Head of Financial Performance
Mrs S Hobbs – Senior Committee Services Officer
Mr G Jones – Deputy Director Safeguarding and

Early Help

Mr T Keaveney – Assistant Director Housing

Services

GPC - 18.05.17 Page 2

Mr L Manning Mrs C Shohet Committee Services Officer

Assistant Director of Public Health

### **GPC/17/1. Membership of the Appointments Panel**

The Committee received nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel.

#### **RESOLVED**

- 1. that Members be appointed to the Appointments Panel, as attached at Appendix A to the minutes; and
- 2. to note that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (normally 2-4 Conservatives and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (normally 2 Conservatives and 1 Independent).

(Note:	The meeting commenced at 7.39 p.m. and concluded at 7.41 p.m.)	
	Chairman	
	Dated	

## Appendix A

# General Purposes Committee Nominations 2017/18

Appointments Panel	Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr Jane Lawrence (C)
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all	Cllr Ken Matthews (C)
the Executive Members with specific	Cllr Gordon Perham (C)
portfolios)	Cllr Adam Zerny (I)
	plus Executive Members as below:
	Cllr Ian Dalgarno (C)
	Cllr Steven Dixon (C) Cllr Carole Hegley (C)
	Cllr James Jamieson (C)
	Cllr Brian Spurr (C)
	Cllr Richard Wenham (C)
	Cllr Nigel Young (C)
	Substitutes
	Cllr Amanda Dodwell (C)
	Cllr Alison Graham (I)
	Cllr Nigel Warren (C)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer
	as needed from the membership of the Appointments Panel.
	the Appointments Fallet.
	To comprise 3-5 members (2-4
	Conservative and 1 Independent,
	including at least 1 Executive
	Member)

